The Progressive Presidents: Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Lyndon B. Johnson

Sale price$21.00


Advocates of a strong versus a weak presidency have struggled throughout American history, but never so fiercely as in the twentieth century, which saw the rise of progressivism. This is the story of four progressive presidents, from the first Roosevelt, who himself brought plenty of backbone to the office, to Woodrow Wilson, who articulated the theory of a progressive presidency, to FDR, who brought it unique power, and, finally, to Lyndon Johnson, who provided perhaps its last great surge in our century. In a time of progressive malaise, it is important to know the history, to see the benefits as well as the liabilities, in the progressive presidential tradition. That is the aim and achievement of this book.

Author: John Morton Blum
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Published: 11/17/1982
Pages: 224
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.50lbs
Size: 8.00h x 5.00w x 0.60d
ISBN13: 9780393000634
ISBN10: 039300063X
BISAC Categories:
- Political Science | American Government | General
- History | United States | 20th Century
- Political Science | American Government | Executive Branch