Prize Stories, 1993: The O. Henry Awards

Sale price$19.95


"Widely regarded as the nation's most prestigious award for short fiction."--The Atlantic Monthly

Established in 1918 as a memorial to the master of the short story genre, O. Henry, Prize Stories has long been recognized as the premier forum for the contemporary story. The volume for 1993 carries forth the time-honored literary tradition in 23 selections as original and varied as the current trends in short fiction. The top prize for 1993 is awarded to Thom Jones's "The Pugilist at Rest," which explores the interior depths of depression through the eyes of Vietnam vet and former Marine boxing champion. Other stories in this collection include:

Andrea Lee "Winter Barley"
William F. Van Wert "Shaking"
Joyce Carol Oates "Goose-Girl"
Charles Eastman "Yellow Flags"
Cornelia Nixon "Risk"
Rilla Askew "The Killing Blanket"
Antonya Nelson "Dirty Words"
John H. Richardson "The Pink House"
Diane Levenberg "A Modern Love Story"
John Van Kirk "Newark Job"
Alice Adams "The Islands"
Stephen Dixon "The Rare Muscovite"
Lorrie Moore "Charades"
Kate Wheeler "Improving My Average"
Peter Weltner "The Greek Head"
C. E. Poverman "The Man Who Died"
Jennifer Egan "Puerto Vallarta"
Charles Johnson "Kwoon"
Linda Svendsen "The Edger Man"
Daniel Stern "The Hunger Artist by Franz Kafka: A Story"
Josephine Jacobsen "The Pier-Glass"
Steven Schwarz "Madagascar"

Author: William Miller Abrahams
Publisher: Anchor Books
Published: 04/01/1993
Pages: 448
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 1.36lbs
Size: 8.72h x 5.54w x 1.13d
ISBN13: 9780385425322
ISBN10: 0385425325
BISAC Categories:
- Fiction | Anthologies (multiple authors)

About the Author
Born in 1919, William Abrahams published four successful novels and a number of poems before finding his true calling as an editor. He presided over the O. Henry Awards for more than 30 years starting in 1965. Abrahams also worked as the west coast editor of Atlantic Monthly Press and collaborated on nonfiction books with his partner, Peter Stansky. He passed away in 1998.